April 11, 2021

Bucs Life Media

Bringing You The Best News

No Art Rooney Award For Lavonte David This Year

1 min read

Photo Credit: Buccaneers.com

With the NFL season winding down, the Award season is slowly approaching.

The Art Rooney Award finalist list has been released, and it is missing one near and dear Buccaneer, by the name of Lavonte David. The Rooney Award is given to the athlete that shows great sportsmanship on the field, and the ones who make sure they show the utmost respect for the game by playing fair and clean.

All 32 NFL franchises submitted a nominee, and Lavonte David was ours. He’s shown all of the qualifying marks to win this award since stepping on the field as a rookie. Some of the names on the finalist list truly shock me to have over Lavonte David, but hey, I guess they said new season new outlook.

Current players will vote on the winner from the eight finalists there are four from each conference; (Calais Campbell, Thomas Davis Sr., T.Y. Hilton, Matthew Slater, Adrian Peterson, Matthew Stafford, Joe Staley, Eric Weddle).

The winner will be announced live during the NFL Honors on February 1st. He will receive a trophy and $25K from the NFL Foundation for the charity of his choice. Some of the past recipients of this prestigious award are Drew Brees, who won it in 2018, Charles Woodson in 2015, and Larry Fitzgerald in 2014.

%d bloggers like this: