June 25, 2021

Bucs Life Media

Bringing You The Best News

Lavonte David, Finalist For Art Rooney Award

1 min read

Not only is Lavonte David one of the best linebackers in the NFL, he’s also incredibly humble, he lets his play do his talking for him and he is beloved by the entire Bucs organization and Tampa Bay fans nation wide.

As a result of this, Lavonte David has been named as a finalist for the Art Rooney Award, which is an annual award given by the NFL, recognizing outstanding sportsmanship on the playing field. The Art Rooney Award was created in 2014 and is named in honor of the late Arthur Joseph Rooney Sr, the founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and NFL Hall of Famer.

Each of the 32 NFL teams nominate one player from their roster for this award every year. According to operations.nfl.com, this year, a panel from the NFL Legends Community, that included Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler were responsible for selecting the eight finalists.

Congratulations to the eight finalists. Good luck Lavonte! The eight finalists are as follows:

  • Calais Campbell (Ravens)
  • Cameron Heyward (Steelers)
  • Justin Houston (Colts)
  • Matthew Slater (Patriots)
  • Teddy Bridgewater (Panthers)
  • Lavonte David (Buccaneers)
  • Jason Kelce (Eagles)
  • Kyle Juszczyk (49ers)


%d bloggers like this: