July 29, 2021

Bucs Life

Bringing You The Best News

Demar Dotson selected by Bucs for Ed Block Courage Award

1 min read

Image credit: Eric Hartline | USA TODAY Sports

It was announced this morning by buccaneers.com that the Bucs have named Demar Dotson as their recipient for the 2019 Ed Block Courage Award.

(Ed Block Courage Award recipients symbolize professionalism, great strength, and dedication, in addition to being community role models. It is a unique award, as the recipient is selected by their teammates)

Dotson joins franchise lineman Davin Jospeh (2012), Kevin Pamphile (2016), John Wade (2005), and Jerry Wunsch (2001) to win the award since 2000.

(Lavonte David, Joe Jurevicius, Vincent Jackson, “Cadillac” Williams, Warrick Dunn, Derrick Brooks, Hardy Nickerson, Ronde Barber, Mike Alstott, Ricky Reynolds¬†other notable Buccaneers to win the award)

Dotson is one of the longest-tenured Bucs in franchise history. In his 11th season, he joins John Lynch (11), Paul Gruber (12), Derrick Brooks (14), Dave Moore (13), Mike Alstott (12), and Ronde Barber (16), all who have spent more than 11 years with the franchise. His 104 starts are tied for 16th in franchise history. He has appeared in 128 games.

Dotson has played a vital role in the community, participating in “Turkey Time with the O-Line” also sponsors “Dotsons Do-Gooders”, which provides a special gameday experience for the youth who otherwise wouldn’t have the chance to attend Buccaneers home games.